Yahoo Mail may make sense for you to close an old account, but it may actually be a security precaution. Yahoo really takes the cake among all the data breaches that have rocked the tech world over the last few years. Find out how you can permanently delete your Yahoo account by reading this guide.
Two separate hacks hit the company in 2013. In one case, the company lost the user data of 500 million customers. And in the other, the company lost the email content of more than a billion users.
The company also suffered another setback when its online service went down for an extended period of time during the Christmas holidays. At the same time, Facebook has seen an inactive drop user, and growth in its user base is slowing down.
The social network said it now has 2.23 billion monthly active users, up from 3.18 billion in the fourth quarter of 4. However, this was a marginal increase, which reflects that the number of new users continues to fall.
How to Delete Your Yahoo Account
When you delete your Yahoo account, you will also lose your Yahoo Messenger settings, Flickr account and photos, and other data associated with your Yahoo account. Before closing the Yahoo email, ensure that you download any information you may need in the future. Ensure you are sure about your decision to delete your Yahoo! email account.
- Join the Yahoo account termination page using the Yahoo ID you want to delete.
- Look over the account termination information and click the Continue button. When you delete your Yahoo account, you will also lose access to any paid services associated with this email address.
- Verify your identity by entering your Yahoo password, and click the Yes, delete this account button.
- Click I understand.
I’m happy to inform you that you have now figured out how to delete your Yahoo! Account! Unfortunately, Yahoo says this process takes about 40 days to complete, and it may take even longer in some countries. For example, the process may take 90 days for Australian or New Zealand users and 180 days for Brazilian or Taiwanese users. As a result, deleting a Yahoo! An account can sometimes be a hassle.
- You will see a delivery failure message for any emails addressed to this Yahoo account once the account is terminated.
Once you delete your Yahoo! email account, you will not be able to reactivate it. If you want to reactivate your Yahoo! email account, you will need to open a new account. In addition, Yahoo informs that some of your data “might remain” in its records even after the account is fully terminated. To find out more about which information might be stored, visit Yahoo’s Data Storage and Anonymization support page.
Is it Safe to Delete a Yahoo Mail Account?
Yahoo Mail accounts can be deleted not only so that your emails are removed, and you have no access to your account, but you also lose access to your My Yahoo profile settings, your Flickr account and photos, and other Yahoo services.
Anyone who attempts to send a message to the email address after you close your Yahoo Mail account will receive a delivery failure message immediately. Therefore, if you intend to end your Yahoo Mail account soon, make sure to notify your friends and contacts – both from your new email address (to make it easier for them to get in touch with you in the future) and from Yahoo Mail (to ensure the message is received).
If you use a Yahoo Mail account on multiple devices, you can delete one device’s account and then sign in to another. You’ll be asked if you want to merge the two accounts, and if you do, your old Yahoo Mail account will be deleted. You won’t lose any content or personal information. If you’re moving from a different provider, it’s important to note that Yahoo Mail will keep your messages and other information for up to 90 days.
If you don’t want your messages to be retained for that long, you can set your account to delete your messages after 60 days or 90 days. Likewise, if you’ve signed up for Yahoo Mail as a free user and decide you want to upgrade, you can cancel your subscription at any time. Simply go to your Account Settings page and click the “Manage Subscriptions” link under your Account Information.