As the memory of your iPhone expands, you will be able to use it more efficiently. In the case where you are using your iPhone for your business and other important things, it becomes more personal and dearer to you. When you are starting to store personal information such as passwords, email addresses, and business-related information, then that is the time when you don’t want other people to use your computer. For myself, I have been guilty of this. I use my iPhone instead of my notebook that I keep all my passwords for my email accounts, blogs, and even PayPal accounts on my iPhone. It is for that reason that I simply leave it at home and take my other phone with me when I go to parties or other personal activities; this is to make sure that it cannot be misplaced.
How to Reset iPhone XR Settings and Erase iPhone Data
You probably have a backup of your contacts, SMS, etc. if you’ve used an iPhone for quite some time. If you do this, you will feel at ease as you use your iPhone to do what you need to do. It is strongly recommended that new iPhone users take their time syncing their devices before proceeding. In order to reset or erase all the data on your iPhone, follow the steps below as soon as you are ready to do so.
- Start the Springboard, and then go to the ‘Settings’ section and click on ‘General’.
- Tap ‘General’ to proceed. If you can’t find ‘Reset’, then scroll down a bit and you will find it.
- You will be presented with a number of options once you tap ‘Reset’. Your iPhone will be restored to its factory settings if you choose the ‘Reset All Settings’ option, but you won’t lose any data. You need to tap on the ‘Erase All Content and Settings’ button.
- Now that you have chosen your option, you need to confirm your action. Having said that, if you are certain enough that you want to proceed, you just have to tap on the confirmation button, in this case ‘Erase iPhone’.
Here, you will learn how to erase or reset your data using on-screen commands.
Create a backup of your iPhone’s data by syncing it with your personal computer in case you ever need to restore any information that you deleted. Once the syncing and backing up of data is complete, and your iPhone has been disconnected from your computer, you can begin the process of resetting your phone. This is a relatively simple process.
Click on the Settings icon of the menu that appears on the home screen of your iPhone by tapping on the icon. You will then find the General options sub-menu of the Settings menu. You will also find various other options on that screen and if you scroll down to the bottom of the page, you will find the option to reset the settings. When you tap on it, you will see two options: Erase all settings and content and Reset Settings. Select one of them according to what you want to do. When you choose the reset option, your iPhone preference settings will return to factory defaults without deleting your data. By selecting the erase all option, you will not only return your iPhone default factory settings, but you will also erase all of your data from your iPhone, including emails, apps, music, and messages.
The Importance of Erasing iPhone Data
It is very important to erase all your personal or classified data from your iPhone before you give, sell or send it out for service. Therefore, before letting your iPhone out of your hands, you should empty its memory completely.